The 4th of July and Transfer Day 7/5/2016

Standard
Hello my wonderful family and friends!! I hope you all have had a great 4th of July! Hope there were some great fireworks, family and food and such. 🙂
This week was pretty crazy! My birthday was last Monday and we went to the arch! We got to go inside it this time! It was AWESOME!! They put you in this little space ship looking thing. Super tiny. It’s a good thing I’m not claustrophobic.
T window
We got to the top and you can see everything! You look out one side and you see St. Louis with all the stadiums (Cardinals, Blues, and the Rams) All the big buildings and universities.
View of SL 752016
And you look out the other side and see the Mississippi river and Illinois! It’s a big river. Then we went to Fitz’s and got their famous root beer.
Fitzs RB 752016
We had a dinner appointment with a member family and they surprised me for my birthday! They called my mom and made my favorite cake, had streamers and a table cloth and sang me happy birthday. It was so great! They’re so thoughtful! 🙂
Choc Cake 752016
BDay 4 Tess
We found a super awesome potential named Charlie last week. We had two appointments with him this week. The first was on Tuesday and went super well! We taught him about the Book of Mormon with Leah, a laurel from the ward. He accepted the invitation to baptism!! He accepts everything we teach really well and he’s ready to dive in! He also has a pet alligator. He keeps it in a tank in his living room. We also taught the restoration and he loved it! He’s so ready to accept the gospel!

We had a district contacting challenge this week. We needed to leave a commitment with everyone in the form of a “will you” question. It was so great! It’s so effective! We won the challenge. #AllWeDoIsWin
District 752016
Guess who came to church on Sunday? Everybody!!!!!!! Seriously, we had so many people. Moose and Dave (Dave is our investigator, Moose is a returning less active) Charlie came, and CAROL came!!! I was so happy I about died. The elders had a few people come too. Gospel Principles was packed!!
Saturday was fantastic. We got to meet our new mission president! President and Sister Bateman and their daughter Sydney. They are amazing! We got to know them and they spoke to us for a while. I’m excited to see what they do in our mission. They have so much energy! After the meeting, one of the APs told me President Bateman wanted to speak with me. *insert jolt of slight panic* So I walked over and he talked to me for a bit. He said he had a new assignment for me, he asked me to be a Sister Training Leader! I’m really excited for this new opportunity. It’s a big responsibility and I’m a little nervous. 🙂 As an STL, I’ll go on exchanges and present trainings. It’s almost like being a Zone Leader.. but different.
So that means that I transferred. I’m already in my new area. It’s called Highland but it’s in Glen Carbon in the O’Fallon, IL zone. Which means I get to go on exchanges to my first area CENTRALIA! So happy!! I’m glad to be back in Illinois. I missed the corn fields. 🙂 My companion is Sister Williams. She’s from Mesquite, Nevada. All her cousins live in Cedar City and I know them from school! Small world. She’s super awesome! I’ve only been her companion for a couple hours. 🙂  Sister Lyons is staying in Oakville and is companions with Sister Edholm.
All in all, it was a great week. I’m sad to leave Oakville but excited for my new adventure in Glen Carbon, IL. 🙂
I love you all! Have a great week! Thank you for everything.
Pictures:
District Picture
The Burchett family surprised me on my birthday. 🙂
Lunch with Carol.
The ARCH!
Sis O and Lyons Arch 752016
Platforms 6 and 7 752016
Girls Gone Wild 752016

Lunch with Carol

Leave a Reply

