Gleeeeennnn Carbon!!! 7/11/2016

Standard
Hello wonderful family and friends! I hope you are all doing fabulous!
This week went by super fast! We’ve been crazy busy and I LOVE it! We cover two wards, the Glen Carbon ward and the Edwardsville YSA branch! It’s great to be in YSA again. They are all just super solid! 🙂 my first Sunday was yesterday and I got to meet a TON of new people! I need to get better at remembering names. It’s a struggle. It’s different going into an area where your companion has been in the area. I’ve whitewashed so much that it’s a nice break. 🙂
We had some great lessons! Our area is really big so we have some travel time. Sister Clements is a member in the ward and she is the best member missionary ever! She always comes with us to lessons and gives us rides. She’s the best. I got to meet some of our investigators! We even set a baptism date! One of our recent converts is sick so we went to visit him and read the Book of Mormon with him. Mark is so solid, he just loves the gospel! Another recent convert is Lauraly. She’s 10. I actually got to teach her the restoration when I was here on exchanges last year! She’s super sweet and energetic about the gospel. 🙂 We had dinner with some great families in our ward. I’m super excited to serve here and get to know these wonderful people! 🙂
On Friday, we went to St. Louis for MLC (Mission Leadership Conference). We car pooled with the Springfield STLs so I got to see Sister Day again! It was really cool. We had trainings from the Assistants to the President and from President and Sister Bateman. We talked a lot about the Book of Mormon and how we can use it more effectively in our work. We take what we learn at MLC and present trainings at Zone Leadership Training this transfer. Our ZLTs are this week so that’ll be fun. 🙂
Miracle of the week: Sister Williams and I walked to a member’s house to give them a note. While we were walking, we ran into this lady named Shasta. She was playing with her son outside. We started talking to her and she’s been looking for a church ever since she moved here a few months ago! She’s super open to learning more and taking the missionary lessons!

Another Miracle of the week: We were trying this former investigators house in Highland and she doesn’t live there anymore. BUT the girl who does live there, her grandma met with missionaries and she is super interested in learning about our church and the Book of Mormon! It was such a tender mercy. I love missionary work. It’s all from the Lord. So many miracles.
One of my favorite things I’ve learned this week is how miraculous the Book of Mormon is. We are seriously so blessed to have the fullness of the gospel! The Book of Mormon is the tool for our conversion. It’s pretty much stories of other people’s conversion! We really can come closer to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ by reading it than by any other book. We can learn so much as we apply the teachings we read. I love the Book of Mormon. 🙂
It’s been a good and crazy week. Life is good and I love it! Sister Williams is a great companion and a great missionary. She’s taught me so much already!

GC new comp 7112016

I hope you all have a fabulous week! I love you and thank you for everything! 🙂 Keep smiling!!
Sister Oldroyd
Sister Tess Oldroyd
41 B Cougar Dr.
Glen Carbon, IL 62034
Pictures:
Selfie with Sister Williams!! Don’t mind my hair.. it was raining that day. 🙂
Leave a Reply

