Life is good :) 05/23/2016

Standard

Hello wonderful family and friends!!

Kate got baptized this week!!!

05232016 Kate 2 white

Kate’s Baptism!!

Oh my goodness, I couldn’t be happier. It went SO well! She had a private baptism, so it was pretty much all missionaries. We were there, the Oakville elders, the Webster Groves elders, and Brother Davis from the bishopric and her friend Ryan. It was AMAZING! The Spirit was so strong! Elder Johnson baptized her and Elder Peterson confirmed her on Sunday. It was so joyful to see her enter the waters of baptism and receive the Holy Ghost. She has been waiting so long for this and she was finally able to make that covenant! 🙂 She just glowed! She’s so happy and that makes me so happy. I love her!

05232016 Kate 1

After her baptism, we took her out for icees to celebrate. 🙂

05232016  Treats Pizza Hut

Slushies to Celebrate!!!

The rest of the week was good too. 🙂 We had a Sister’s P Day on Monday with the sisters in our zone. We played sports and had tons of fun. I learned that I’m super boss at ping-pong and not so boss at basketball/volleyball. #PingPongForTheWin

Oh! And we got to wear PANTS! Super weird. We also took Kate to the YSA FHE!!!! It was so fun! It was SO GREAT to see my YSA people again. We got to introduce Kate to some people because she will be going to the YSA soon. 🙂

05232016 Puppy

Super cute puppy at the Young Single Adult Family Home Evening.

Oh, we also got the cops called on us this week. Apparently Bella Villa has a no soliciting policy and I guess someone thought we were selling something. The cop talked to us and I think he thought it was pretty funny. Haha, he gave us a “warning” and let us leave. We weren’t doing anything illegal.

Lesson Learned: work through the members.

We had some great lessons with less actives this week. Christina (she came to the temple tour last week) fed us dinner AND CAME TO CHURCH!!! I was so happy! We texted her that morning but she didn’t answer so we weren’t sure if she’d come. But she did!!! 🙂 She enjoyed Sacrament meeting. We also met with Carol this week, she’s doing well and LOVED the temple tours!

Church on Sunday was especially good. First off, Kate got confirmed! 🙂 The talks were really good too. The stake seminary teacher spoke about seminary and her love for the scriptures. I learned a lot from her talk and remembered how amazing seminary was. Seminary and Institute are such great places to learn from the scriptures. 🙂 The next speaker, Brother Wills spoke about how to study the scriptures and directed his talk to Kate! It was great, I learned more methods for studying. We study a lot as missionaries and it’s nice to have some new ideas. 🙂

We got transfer calls on Saturday and I’m staying in Oakville to train Sister Lyons! 🙂 I’m excited. I like this area and I’m growing to love the ward more and more. It’s a great place. 🙂 Our whole district will be training this transfer.. #BabyDistrict  🙂 I love the greenie fire!

05232016 Horse

Sister Lyons has the weirdest trainer ever.

 

I learned a lot this week. One thing I studied this week was being a consecrated missionary. Being a consecrated missionary means giving this our all. Everything we have. Working and serving with all our heart, might, mind and strength. Giving this our all is a small repayment of His all. Christ gave His all for us. I am so thankful for Him and the knowledge I have of His Atonement.

05232016 Group

District Picture!

It was a good week. Missionary work has it’s ups and downs but we always smile! Life is good. 🙂
I love you all!!! Thank you so much for everything you do! Keep smiling!
Sister Oldroyd

Pictures:

Slushies to celebrate!
Kate’s baptism!!!
District Picture!
Super cute puppy at the YSA FHE.
Sister Lyons has the weirdest trainer ever.
Leave a Reply

