This week was AWESOME!

Standard

8/24/2015

First we got this:

Oh I just love being a missionary. This week was great. We were super busy and had a lot to do. But we got it all done! Yay!

So the mom sent this:

Re: This week was AWESOME!

“Is this what you call a letter!?!?! That’s barely any!!!

And she sent this:

It sent before I was done. It is coming. Patience mother. 🙂

Then the real letter came:

I am still getting used to this email thing. I didn’t mean to sent that email before. I’m sorry. Technology can be great but sometimes I don’t like it.

This is how we did our weekly planning.. In the car in the rain with the seats reclined. #swag

This is how we did our weekly planning.. In the car in the rain with the seats reclined. #swag

Anyways. This week was great! We had a lot of really good lessons and met some fabulous people. We also had president interviews! Those were great! I love our mission president and his wife so much. They are so caring and awesome.

We had some meals with some members. Sister Colberth is the greatest. She fed us lunch one day and gave us this dessert chocolate brownie pudding ice cream thing. It was the greatest thing is the world. It’s like heaven in your mouth. #CelestialKingdomStatus. Oh it was good.

We had a lesson with Adam, one of our investigators, he’s way cool. He has a lot of questions about the church but is willing to keep learning. The gospel can just help him so much! That is how it is with everyone. Everybody needs it but some people choose not to accept it. It is really hard when people tell us they don’t want to meet with us anymore. They are missing out on some serious blessings. We had another spanish lesson with Nachoooooooo. We taught the Plan of Salvation. He said he understands most of it. Francisco is a great translator. We visit a lot of elderly people. They are all so sweet and kind to us and they love when the missionaries visit them.

We had exchanges this week! It was so fun. I went to Glen Carbon with one of our Sister Training Leaders. Our STLs are so great. Sister Haderlie and I had a couple appointments which went really well. She is such a great example of a missionary. She makes everyone feel welcome and she talks to everyone like they are her best friend. She taught me a lot on exchanges. I am just learning so much here! AH! It’s awesome.

The Young Single Adult program here is booming! They only started activities three weeks ago and we have 3 YSA investigators who come to the activities! If you build it they will come. So true. It is also fun to go to the activities. Last week we played glow in the dark bowling.. I am terrible at bowling in the first place.. It’s just bad news people. Haha it was still way fun though. We received a few referrals there too. The members here are such great missionaries. They bring friends all the time!

Near death experience of the week:

A huge brown ugly hairy thick nasty spider fell from our ceiling this morning right between sister Schow and I. Huge meaning one inch. ITS BODY WAS ONE INCH! That was not including the legs. We both freaked out and screamed. We cornered it against the wall and were trying to figure out a way to kill it. We called our STLs because we didn’t know how to kill it. We were 99% sure it was deadly poisonous. They laughed at us and gave us moral support. We had bathroom cleaner and a fly swatter. #ComeAtUsBro. We prepared ourselves for battle, Sister Schow had the spray cleaner and I had the fly swatter. 20 minutes later and after minimal screaming, we had a dead spider. Nasty. It was intense people.

#ComeAtUsBro

#ComeAtUsBro

On a lighter note, I have been reading Jesus the Christ the past few weeks. It is a great book, James E Talmage was one smart man. I am learning so much about our Savior and coming closer to Him. I’ve also studied the Book of Mormon a lot. I love it. My love for the scriptures has grown so much on my mission. The Book of Mormon really is the keystone of our religion. It is what sets us apart from the rest. It is the fullness of the everlasting gospel. It is the word of God. It’s funny, when people question it I feel the truthfulness of it so strongly. I know the Book of Mormon is true. This week I have learned more the love of God. God loves each of us so much. He knows us perfectly and has provided a plan for us to return to Him. He wants us to be happy. “Adam fell that men might be, and men are that they might have joy.” That is why we are here, to learn, grow, progress and to be happy. 🙂 The more I learn the more I want to share the gospel with everybody.

Missions are great. The gospel changes lives. It can help so many people. This is one of the best choices I’ve made. It is also one of the hardest things I’ve done. But also one of the happiest things. I love being on a mission and I love the people here. I am learning so much, I know I probably say that every week but it is so true. 🙂 I am happy.

I love you all so much!

Sister Oldroyd

I hope the pictures are working. 🙂  Part one.
The Mills feed us every week and give little gifts. They gave me the angel and said “You’ve earned your wings” They are so sweet!! I love them.
Angel Wings 8242015
Leave a Reply

