Mission life is OH SO GREAT!!!‏

Standard
8/10/2015
Hello everyone!

Mission life is so great!!!! I absolutely love it here! Oh my golly, I just love life. Things in Centralia (home of the winningest basketball team in the nation) are great! This town is just awesome. The people here are amazing. I love them all so much!

Let’s see. There is just so much to talk about. We had two baptisms this week!! Woohoooooo!!!! Roger and Sarah are our peeps. Sarah is Rogers daughter. They are from a part member family and are so ready for the gospel. Member missionary work is so cool. It really works. They are so happy to be baptized. They both said they felt so much better afterwards. Not that they weren’t feeling good before, but they truly feel changed. It is so amazing, baptism is powerful and essential for our salvation.

We have another baptism this Saturday! Harold is again from a part member family. A couple months ago he started reading the Book of Mormon to prove it wrong.. But guess what… He’s getting baptized on Saturday. AAHHH! The Book of Mormon is so awesome!! We challenged their family to read it all together. I just love their family. They are super southern and have the greatest accents. They said they were going to cook turtle for us sometime… That’ll be interesting haha! I’m excited.

We started teaching Jacob too. He is Steve’s grandson. (Steve just got baptized last week) From yet another part member family. He is excited to learn more! The day after we taught the restoration, they went to Nauvoo for the pageant. How perfect is that! He said he loved it and felt the spirit so strongly about Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon. He is so ready for the gospel it’s not even funny.

We also met Miranda this week. We met her at a Young Single Adult activity and started teaching her. She told us she was looking for truth and guess what… she just hit the jackpot. That was the coolest lesson I’ve been a part of. The spirit was so strong and she felt it too. We taught the restoration and it made complete sense to her. She said that if it was true then that would be very important to the world. We invited her to pray and read the Book of Mormon to see if it was true. She is so excited and happy about it. I am excited to see her grow. She has so much potential as a person and is already so strong! I love her so much.

We have had more lessons and dinner with a few members this week. They are all so awesome. UGG! Everyone here is just so amazing! The more people I meet, the more I learn, and the more I come to love them.

There are so many people here who need the gospel. It can help them so much. I love being a missionary for that reason. It is so amazing.

My heart is so full right now. I am so blessed. Being here helps me to see how blessed I am. I am so thankful that I have the gospel in my life. So many blessings have come from that. I also have an amazing family and wonderful friends. They love me and support me through everything. I love all of you so much. Thank you to everyone for being a part of my life.

I am so happy here and am thoroughly enjoying every second! The church is so true and God loves and Jesus Christ loves us so so much. More than we could ever comprehend.

Love you all so much!! Thank you for everything!!

– Sister Oldroyd

Roger and Sarah bap

This is Sister Schow and I at Roger and Sarah’s baptism. There were about 5 cameras going at the same time so don’t mind everyone looking at a different one.

P.S. My address is 500 W Broadway Apartment 6 Centralia, Illinois 62801

If you ever feel so inclined to send me a letter 🙂 I’ll be here for at least 10 weeks. Probably more 🙂

Leave a Reply

